NASA Announces 2009 Astronomy and Astrophysics Fellows

NASA Announces 2009 Astronomy and Astrophysics Fellows

About this image

NASA has selected fellows in three areas of astronomy and astrophysics for its Einstein, Hubble, and Sagan Fellowships. The recipients of this year's postdoctoral fellowships will conduct independent research at institutions around the country.

The 17 awardees of the Hubble Fellowship pursue research associated with NASA's "Cosmic Origins Program." The missions in this program examine the origins of galaxies, stars, and planetary systems, and the evolution of these structures with cosmic time. The Hubble Fellowships are administered for NASA by the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore, Md.

The 2009 Hubble Fellows are:

Name Ph.D. Institution Host Institution Stephen Ammons Univ. of California, Santa Cruz, 2009 Univ. of Arizona Misty Bentz Ohio State Univ., 2007 Univ. of California, Irvine Tabetha Boyajian Georgia State Univ., 2009 Georgia State Univ. Kevin Covey Univ. of Washington, 2006 Cornell Univ. Kristian Finlator Univ. of Arizona, 2009 Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Mario Juric Princeton Univ., 2007 Harvard Univ. Evan Kirby Univ. of California, Santa Cruz, 2009 Caltech Adam Kraus Caltech, 2009 Univ. of Hawaii Adam Leroy Univ. of Califronia, Berkeley, 2006 NRAO Daniel Marrone Harvard Univ., 2006 Univ. of Chicago Karin Oberg Leiden Univ., 2009 Smithsonian Astrophysical Observ. Jose Prieto Ohio State Univ., 2009 OCIW, Pasadena Brant Robertson Harvard Univ., 2006 Caltech Lisa Winter Univ. of Maryland, 2008 Univ. of Colorado, Boulder John Wise Stanford Univ., 2007 Princeton Univ. Shelley Wright Univ. of California, Los Angeles, 2008 Univ. of California, Berkeley Joshua Younger Harvard Univ., 2009 Inst. for Advanced Study

Announcements, Artwork, Hubble Telescope


Illustration Credit: NASA, ESA, and M. Martin (STScI)