2014 Hubble Fellows

2014 Hubble Fellows

Download Options

News release ID: STScI-2014-20
Release Date: Apr 2, 2014
Image Use: Copyright
About this image

NASA and the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) have announced the selection of 17 new Hubble Fellows. STScI in Baltimore, Md., administers the Hubble Fellowship Program for NASA. The Hubble Fellowship Program includes all research relevant to present and future missions in NASA's Cosmic Origins theme. These missions currently include the Herschel Space Observatory, the Hubble Space Telescope, the James Webb Space Telescope, the Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy, and the Spitzer Space Telescope. The new Hubble Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2014 and are listed below in alphabetical order with their Ph.D. and host institutions:

  • Fabienne Bastien, Vanderbilt University (2014), Pennsylvania State University
  • Matteo Brogi, Leiden University (2014), University of Colorado
  • Michelle Collins, Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge (2011), Yale University
  • Ryan Cooke, University of Cambridge (2011), University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Jason Dexter, University of Washington (2011), Columbia University
  • Cora Dvorkin, University of Chicago (2011), Harvard University
  • Shy Genel, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich (2011), Columbia University
  • Laura Lopez, University of California, Santa Cruz (2011), Harvard University
  • Joseph Neilsen, Harvard University (2011), Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Evan O'Connor, California Institute of Technology (2012), North Carolina State University
  • Georgiana Ogrean, University of Hamburg (2013), Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
  • James Owen, University of Cambridge (2011), Institute for Advanced Study
  • Amy Reines, University of Virginia (2011), University of Michigan
  • Benjamin Shappee, Ohio State University (2014), Carnegie Observatories
  • Andrew Skemer, University of Arizona (2011), University of Arizona
  • Sjoert Van Velzen, Radboud University of Nijmegen (2014), Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Guangtun Zhu, New York University (2011), Johns Hopkins University

A complete list of Hubble Fellows since 1990 is available at:

Announcements, Hubble Telescope


Credit: NASA, ESA, and STScI