2016 Hubble Fellows

2016 Hubble Fellows

About this image

NASA and the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) have announced the selection of 17 new Hubble Fellows. STScI in Baltimore, Maryland, administers the Hubble Fellowship Program for NASA. The Hubble Fellowship Program supports outstanding postdoctoral scientists whose research is broadly related to the mission of NASA's Cosmic Origins (COR) Program, which aims to examine the origins of galaxies, stars, and planetary systems, and the evolution of these structures with cosmic time. The COR Program consists of a suite of operating science missions that includes the Herschel Space Observatory, the Hubble Space Telescope (HST), the James Webb Space Telescope, the Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA), and the Spitzer Space Telescope, and possible future missions that focus on specific aspects of these questions.

The new Hubble Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2016 and are listed below in alphabetical order with their Ph.D. and host institutions:

  • Brendan Bowler; University of Hawaii; University of Texas at Austin
  • Zheng Cai; Steward Observatory, University of Arizona; UCO/Lick Observatory, University of California
  • Emmanouil Chatzopoulos; University of Texas at Austin; University of Arizona
  • Diana Dragomir; University of British Columbia; Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Maria Drout; Harvard University; Carnegie Observatories
  • Jean-Baptiste Fouvry; Universit√© Pierre et Marie Curie, France; Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
  • Sean Johnson; University of Chicago; Princeton University
  • Michael McCourt; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Anne Medling; University of California, Santa Cruz; California Institute of Technology
  • Maxwell Millar-Blanchaer; University of Toronto; Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Marcel Sven Pawlowski; University of Bonn, Germany; University of California, Irvine
  • Paola Pinilla; Heidelberg University; University of Arizona
  • Sarah Sadavoy; University of Victoria; Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
  • Josiah Schwab; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Daniel Scolnic; Johns Hopkins University; University of Chicago
  • Paul Torrey; Harvard University; Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jennifer Yee; Ohio State University; Harvard University

A complete list of the Hubble Fellows since 1990 is available at:

Announcements, Hubble Telescope


Credit: NASA, ESA, and STScI