News Release Archive:

News Release 876 of 1028

March 31, 1995 12:00 AM (EST)

News Release Number: STScI-1995-19

1995 Hubble Fellows to Study HST Discoveries

The full news release story:

1995 Hubble Fellows to Study HST DiscoveriesView this image

The Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) has selected 12 young scientists for the 1995 Hubble Postdoctoral Fellowship Program. The awardees were selected from a pool of applications from highly qualified candidates worldwide.

Inaugurated in 1990, the Hubble Fellowship Program funds research opportunities for a significant fraction of the approximately 200 Ph.D. astronomers who graduate annually. The program is a joint venture between NASA and STScI, in cooperation with astronomical institutions across the United States.

The scientists selected for this program will have an opportunity to conduct Hubble Space Telescope (HST)-related research of their choice at participating astronomical institutions throughout the U.S. In order to avoid an excessive concentration of talent at any one astronomy institution, no more than one new Fellow per year is approved for any one place. New Hubble Fellows are added each year, for three-year terms. The program currently supports a pool of several dozen astronomers.

Candidates are selected each year through a review by a 10 member panel composed of eminent scientists from U.S. institutions, which ranks them on the basis of merit (research proposal, publications, academic achievements), after which the STScI director or his designate makes the final selection. On completion of the Fellowship Program, these young astronomers are expected to go on to professorships at major institutions. The Hubble Fellowship Program is expected to play an important role in expanding and strengthening the astronomical community.

"The Hubble Fellowships not only fund excellent scientific research, but also bring the best and brightest into the nation's centers of higher education," said Peter Stockman, deputy director of STScI. "We expect that many of the Hubble Fellows will become tomorrow's top scientists and educators."

The 1995 Hubble Fellowship recipients and the institutions where they will conduct their research are: Robert Blum, Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO; Michael Eracleous, University of California, Berkeley, CA; Philippe Fischer, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI; Adam Frank, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN; Mauro Giavalisco, Observatories of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, Pasadena, CA; and Margaret Hanson, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.

Other recipients are: Inger Jorgensen, University of Texas, Austin, TX; James Mihos, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD; Michael Rauch, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA; Katherine Roth, Institute for Astronomy, University of HI, Honolulu, Hawaii; Ata Sarajedini, Kitt Peak National Observatory, Tucson, AZ; and Michael Vogeley, Space Telescope Science Institute, Baltimore, MD.


Cheryl Gundy