News Release Archive:

News Release 56 of 143

April 28, 2009 04:00 PM (EDT)

News Release Number: STScI-2009-20

Space Telescope Science Institute Astrophysicist Elected to National Academy of Sciences

April 28, 2009: Adam Riess was among 72 scientists elected today to membership in the National Academy of Sciences at the organization's 146th annual meeting, held in Washington, D.C. Riess, an astronomer at the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) and professor in the Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy in the Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, joins 20 other Johns Hopkins faculty members currently in the Academy, an honorary society that advises the government on scientific matters.

See the rest:

Credit: NASA, ESA, JHU, and STScI

Photo Credit:: W. Kirk (Homewood Photographic Services)