How many planets are there in our solar system?

Our solar system officially has eight planets and one star: the Sun. In order from the Sun out, the planets are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. The discovery of an object larger than Pluto in 2005 rekindled the debate over whether such objects, belonging to the "Kuiper Belt" – a collection of icy bodies located beyond Neptune – should be called planets. Pluto and other large members of the Kuiper Belt are now considered "dwarf planets."

HubbleSite and STScI are not responsible for content found outside of and

Next question: Can you see any planets with the "naked eye?"

Previous question: How big is the solar system?

See all questions and answers on one big page.

Return to question list for Solar System

Return to FAQ home