Which planets are called the "gaseous" planets?

Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are called the "gaseous" planets. Jupiter and Saturn contain the largest percentages of hydrogen and helium, while Uranus and Neptune contain the largest shares of ices – frozen water, ammonia, methane and carbon monoxide.

HubbleSite and STScI are not responsible for content found outside of hubblesite.org and stsci.edu

Next question: Which planets have rings?

Previous question: Which planets are called the "rocky" or "terrestrial" planets?

See all questions and answers on one big page.

Return to question list for Solar System

Return to FAQ home